Friday, August 26, 2016

The current state of Addy

More photos from yesterday's visit to American Girl Place Los Angeles. Some of the dolls rooms got moved around Melody got Kit old's space, Kit got Addy's old space, and Kaya was next to the stairs (but I forget who was there before- honestly it was all so confusing). But the long and short of it was Addy was moved to the wall on the other side of all the doll rooms, in a few tiny display windows. While I fully understand she isn't long for the sales floor, I am not happy about it at all... so I really need to make up my mind on if I should get her or not, and soon (I have two Addy mold custom girls, but not Addy proper).
(With my luck I'll end up getting her the day before she goes on sale ><) And, because why not, here's a couple pictures of my two Addy mold custom girls

Thrift store AG doll find!

I don't know how I lucked out, but I finally found an American Girl doll at a thrift store! She was about $20, which was a fair price for the shape she was in... I started her rehabbing before trying to figure out who she was, but honestly even if she turned out to have been a Lindsey, I have to wonder if AG would have even recognized her as Lindsey. I'll never know now as the wig is long trashed (as it smelled pretty bad). But without further ado, here she is!
Off the bat, she is dirty, has a terrible wig, is missing an eyelash and has lots of nail polish all over her. But I knew what I was getting when I purchased her. On to the cleaning! I ended up trashing her smelly wig and worse smelling stuffing. Her limbs are also very loose. Going to use the hair elastic method for tightening her. Turns out her badly cut bangs were not the only thing on her forehead.
...really? Looks like this doll wanted to be a Kadabra.
Wow that's a thin wig. Part of why I trashed it asap.
Also, turns out her lash was only retracted. Hooray! She's cleaning up rather nicely. I was able to downgrade her from a Kadabra to a starless Abra, but her body is currently drying. Tommrow I hope to have her back on her now clean body, and maybe with some refreshed makeup.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Melody's day (or getting Melody at AGPLA)

So today was Melody's release date (for those of us who wanted to wait/wanted to pick out their doll in person/no longer trust AG to pick a decent doll out for them/ just wanted the doll and not her accessories for just a five dollar saving) so me and my hubby braved the LA traffic to go back to American Girl Place Los Angeles today to pick up Melody! I am super happy with her in person (but have yet to open my girl for... reasons. Ok, because I spent the night cleaning a used AG doll I got from a thrift store, but more on that later). There were so many cute new dolls/items out today, so I decided to show all my photos, just over different days (so I don't just post one 30-something photo entry)
Here is my Melody, still in her box... I also picked up a hair pick and the most recent PWP.
Well I am pooped! Thanks for viewing!

Sunday, August 21, 2016

American Girl Place Summer adventure!

Finally posting this! My hubby and I went to the AGPLA around the end of last month, I went to look like the Willie Wishers (but I'm still on the fence about them, so I left with only a couple of the mix and match items) Here are some pictures from our visit, thank you for reading!
(I ended up taking a 62 home with my on my next visit, but didn't take photos as the heat was killing me).
I love these displays! Wish I had a huge doll/fish tank display. XD
I loved how she was wearing her hat and coat indoors. She must not be from California. :D
Wish these Pjs came in adult sizes. ... and that's all of them! I had a lot of fun and can't wait till my next visit!

Friday, August 19, 2016

Kaya's birthday week and doll shopping!

Today I found out it was Kaya's birthday week this week (no idea why it's a week instead of a day, but I'll take it). Here's a picture of my two Kayas (my traditional and modern versions of her)
Happy birthday, Kaya! In other news, I ended up accidentally going on a mini doll spending spree... and I do literally mean "mini doll"! First off I found some Mini Pullips at Tuesday Morning for about $10 US each. I went in looking for American Girl stuff (they had the kits for girl sized items but I was hoping for doll sized items) but was very happy to find these lovelies instead!
Last, we hit Walmart where they had a lot of the new My Life As items in stock (including the boy, which I almost got, but decided two boy dolls is good for my doll family) including the mini versions of the girl dolls! They had one of each in stock, and at first I thought they were $5 US (they were in the wrong bin XD) so I almost got four of them... glad I talked myself down to two, as they turned out to be a bit under $10 US each!
I am not a big fan of the full sized girls, but I just LOVE these girls! I'll do an unboxing comparing them to the AG mini girls at a later date!

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Still here... and there... and everwhere!

... and yet nowhere at all. XD I will be planning on updating this blog a bit more often, just a quick little "I'm alive" posting. I've still be into American Girl dolls, I've just been doing all of my posting over at my instagram , where I post about dolls of all types, cats and coffee (and tea!). I've braved LA TWICE in the past two months to go to American Girl Place LA twice; once for some doll clothes and today to finally cash in my Costco gift cards and got a new doll, one trip was nicer than the other... but I did see the cutest little boy getting an American Girl doll. Made me happy to see that. So to celebrate, here's a photo of my two AG boys (the blond is currently unnamed, the sandy blond boy is named Terry).
I'll post my photos from the first outing to AGP LA another day. Just happy to get this blog updated again! <3

Monday, November 12, 2012

American Girl in the big city

So... I went to the Los Angeles American Girl Place store at the Grove this weekend. The last time I went was about a year ago... and for good reason. The store itself is awesome, it's huge and fun and I feel like a kid when I go inside (and get lots of weird looks from the people who run the store- I swear the lady who rung me up was the same one who did a year ago and she was equally as weirded out with me then and she was now), but the drive to it was horrible. LA drivers are the worst drivers, we almost got hit so many times I lost count... and it's funny, I felt a lot less safe in the good neighborhoods than the less good ones we had to go through- it seems insurance and fancy cars make people not care if they get hit. And the parking... goodness the parking at the Grove was terrible. It took us half an hour to find a space, but we were safe and did get to go.

The store itself was magic. I love seeing the dolls in person and I HAD to go to the store to look at the girls in person- the pictures American Girl posts of how bright their eyes are really are deceiving. And I now know which doll I want next (which will be some time next year- going to say it here so I don't forget, the My American Girl #19). I didn't take any photos inside the store because I didn't want to appear like a total creeper, but I wish I could have. The store itself was decked out for Christmas already (which worked for me because I wanted to visit in Christmas and knew I wouldn't get the chance again this year). I picked up a new brush, the special Holiday store only outfit, Kit's lunch pail...

and Miss McKenna.


I wasn't going to get her, but then I remembered how much I regretted not getting Kanani last year when I had the chance... I decided not to regret it again (especially because from what I've seen of the 2013 GOTY, I'm not in love ). I am really loving the quality of the doll, she's my first not second-hand AG and I am glad to welcome her to the fold... although no more dolls for a long, long time, at the very least this is the last girl for 2012.

Target is having a great sale on the Our Generation outfits, I picked this one up for only nine bucks. Very pleased with that considering it even comes with tights and shoes.

Hope everyone has a great Veteran's day today!